Our Decision to Switch to Medtronic Minimed 630G Insulin Pump – Part 1

A few months ago, I was at home with the kids, and didn’t feel quite right. After a quick fingerstick, I saw that I was in the 20’s. In a panic, I couldn’t get anyone on the phone to talk with me until my sugars came up. I began to “eat the kitchen”, as it were. I finally reached my sister-in-law, who came to sit with the kids until I could get back to myself again.

After that day, I was scared out of my mind to go below 100 if I was at home with the kids by myself. So, I started running my numbers higher — much higher than I’m comfortable with, and I knew I would be risking damage doing so.

That’s when I realized, Dexcom Share wasn’t enough. It’s great to be able to Share and have people call to check on you… but what if they can’t actually reach you? My son and daughter can’t use my iPhone just yet (he can’t remember my unlock code), and neither know how to use a glucagon kit.

I looked into the Loop system, but honestly, while I love that everyone is so willing to jump on board, I’m not. I’m not confident in my own abilities to make this thing happen since it’s something done from home. I don’t mind tinkering and playing with Nightscout because it’s not directly affecting my insulin dosing, whereas the Loop system does. That’s a-okay if you’re on it – I’m not trying to down the system or anything. I’m just not comfortable with the idea of using it myself.

So, we looked into Medtronic. I know. It’s known as the big evil empire of the insulin pump world. And, while I am interested in the 670G, I was more interested it the 630G since it suspends insulin if the user is low. I know this is the exact same technology as 530G, but somewhere along the way, they’ve improved the CGM technology. I kept reading about how sucky the 530G was but that the 630G was much better on different sites, like Instagram and TuDiabetes, and a few others. People who had absolutely zero success on the 530G were being impressed and excited about the 630G.

After a lot of debate and hemming and hawing about it, I decided to take the plunge. I was going to trade in my Tandem using the Switch-to-System program, but I couldn’t afford the $1249 out of pocket to do the switch. So, on a whim and a prayer, we submitted for insurance coverage. Backed with letters from myself and my doctor, along with pages of blood sugars showing the amount and severity of the lows I had been having, we held our breath and waited.

On the evening of 4/28/2017 just after 5pm, we got the approval from my insurance. And, on 5/1/2017, I began as a Medtronic pumper again.

4 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

4 responses to “Our Decision to Switch to Medtronic Minimed 630G Insulin Pump – Part 1

  1. Judi

    This might be just what you need, or at least a stepping stone to take you to a commercial pump that does more when they become available. I’ve been using the Loop system, a DIY OpenAPS system for 7 months, and it is the most wonderful thing for ME. It gives you a feeling of comfort knowing that the pump will turn off the insulin if you get low. Good luck & hope this gives you the peace you’re looking for.

  2. So sorry you went through that! As you know, I’ve been a MDT pumper since ’98.. but I don’t have the CGM right now. I’m only a little over a year into my current warranty but my Endo wants me to try it when I’m up for a new one again.

  3. I look forward to seeing what you think. Are you on the upgrade program for the 670G? I think that it is absolutely fitting that you are switching to Medtronic because you are the expert on all things D-technology and it is about time that we get to read your reviews of the current state of Medtronic technology. When I look at young moms like you, the idea of the mental burden that will be eased with all of the new technology is fabulous.

  4. Sarah – we had exchanged stories of frustration with our Dexcom pumps some time ago although mine has been fine now for a couple years. My Dexcom prevents the unknown lows and highs and I love seeing my bloodsugar on my iwatch at all times; exercise, cycling, etc. I’m not willing to trade that for anything at this point. I look forward to hearing your review. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

