Walking to Stars Hollow

Well, in a sense, anyway…

I’ve known for a while that I needed to get back to walking for some time now, I’ve just been making up excuse after excuse as to why I couldn’t:

  • the treadmill was cluttered
  • I’m too tired, I’ve worked/cleaned/chased kids all day
  • yada-yada-1432923_640

    Photo credit: Pixabay – geralt

    I don’t want to deal with basal rates right now

  • I’m doing too well with my glucose control and exercise right now would just screw it up
  • I’m too busy with the kids, work, blahhhh blaahhh..
  • Exercise helps the most in the morning, and I’m too tired in the morning since the toddler still won’t sleep through the night.
  • I don’t need to, I walk enough keeping up with the toddler now since she walks everywhere and gets into everything

On and on and on. Seriously. And on…

But I finally just took a deep breath and made myself realize that:

  • my diabetes will always be here (hello, no cure yet… still waiting,) so therefore, the challenges around balancing insulin requirements will always be here,
  • Photo credit: Pixabay - Clker-Free-Vector-Images

    Photo credit: Pixabay – Clker-Free-Vector-Images

    exercise is a weird thing in that if you don’t have energy, exercise will help give you energy. Unless there’s some other underlying cause like hypothyroidism (which I have, and also just had medication adjusted for this week) as well as things like anemia (which I have had, and it is a tired feeling beyond belief.)

  • exercise, while it is helpful for your day if you can do it in the morning and you do burn more calories, does not have to be in the morning. Fit it in whenever you can, just do it.
  • I have two kids… they need to see me exercising to take care of my body so that they know it’s a very important part of staying healthy, even if it’s just for 20-30 minutes a day.

I love watching Gilmore Girls. I’m a total geek. I’ve watched it through THREE times since it’s been on Netflix. It’s one of those shows that just draws you in, and you wonder what it would be like to live in a dreamy town like that. I get lost in the episode and time is up before I realize it. I love watching the show, and I know that each episode runs at least 40 minutes.

1Wb7vCqPiZPOjBcB.jpgMy solution? Rather than spend that 40 minutes doing nothing, I’m going to walk and watch. People walk to music, I walk to Gilmore Girls episodes. For those 40 minutes, I walk step by step to a little imaginary town of Stars Hollow so that being on the treadmill isn’t so boring.

40 minutes on a treadmill will be just over 2 miles if you walk at a 3 mph pace. My goal? 35/3.5/3.5 (because I like ratios.) 35 minutes at 3.5 mph, at a 3.5 percent incline. This gives 5 minutes left over, to be split between beginning and end for warm up and cool down, which is important for your heart and muscles; and I still get my 2 miles in.

After I’m comfortable with that, I plan on upping to 40/4/4, and just doing my warm up/cool down outside of watching the show. I’ve actually been going over my time limit a bit in efforts to knock down some highs by walking.

kYrFmTRQRZqLCCsK.png

One of my “good” days

I’ve actually been going over my time limit a bit in efforts to knock down some highs by walking. Not that taking insulin for a high is bad (it’s NOT,) but if a simple 10-minute burst of walking can help curb the spike, I’m all for it.

Now, I’m on a mission. I know how much I want to exercise. Now, I just have to fit it in with life with diabetes, which can be hard. Meltdowns from frustration due to lows and timing have happened and probably will happen again. But I’m not going to let it stop me.

I can do this and I will do this.

1 Comment

Filed under Diabetes

One response to “Walking to Stars Hollow

  1. Will check out Gilmore Girls on Netflix. Happy walking, Sarah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

