Why a CGM is Important to Me

I didn’t know I was low.

I was sleeping peacefully.

My Dexcom started alarming that I was low, but somehow in my brain I just knew it was wrong. I had no symptoms. No rapid heartbeat. No sweat. No confusion. No anything.

If I hadn’t had the Dexcom, I don’t know if I would have woken up.

I am a firm believer that a CGM system should be standard of care with any diabetic taking insulin. When I had tighter control, I had hypoglycemia unawareness, but now that I’m a bit more relaxed, I’m usually able to catch the lows in the 60’s. But not this time.

All it takes is one time.

One time to not feel it.

One time to not have symptoms.

One time to not wake up

I’m ok now, just dealing with the aftermath with a low-induced headache and feeling overall draggy today (both from the low and my daughter who is my little night owl / early bird). But times like this? Rock me to my core. It’s times like this that make me wonder and think of how insurance companies can deny, any diabetic on insulin who has been prescribed this device, access to it. It shouldn’t be their call. Something needs to be done.

CGMs shouldn’t be considered a luxury item – they should be as standard as a glucose meter itself.

Leave a comment

Filed under dblog

Leave a Reply

