Long time, no blog… The big update.

I promise it has not been intentional to not be consistent or to be absent in blogging. Things were becoming increasingly busy near the end of my pregnancy trying to prepare for the baby, which proved to be a needed thing because I actually went into labor on Father’s Day weekend.

Yep. Totally unexpected. I even had an OB check-up the Thursday before and there was absolutely NO sign of her coming early. I knew my pelvic bone felt as if she had shifted down, but my OB said he didn’t think she had dropped, and that labor did not seem to be any time soon. Yeah, right. My body thought otherwise. Late Friday night / early Saturday morning, I started having contractions. Not bad, but stronger than normal, and only a few of them. I went off to bed with no problem other than the usual hip/pelvic pain that I had all throughout my pregnancy. Saturday morning, we went shopping for the weekend and for things for the next week (food, etc). Halfway through the shopping trip, the contractions were very strong, but not consistent. I thought maybe it was the pelvic pain from walking as long as I had been. Activity was not something I could do without major pain anyway, and this was just over the top. All I wanted to do was to go home and rest in my recliner and wait for the contractions to ease too – because, ya know.. they just had to be Braxton-Hicks since I was no where NEAR ready for labor right?? Ha. They stayed steady all.day.long. And into the night. By that evening, I told my husband we had better go just to get checked since the contractions were then becoming about 4-5 minutes apart.

After a 2 hour stay at the hospital (SUPER strong contractions, but no dilation… only a half centimeter!!), I was sent home with a cocktail shot in my hip to make me sleepy and to ease the pain (which made me super drunk and sleepy, but did NOTHING to ease my pain)… and some juice, crackers and peanut butter because my BG was dropping… which wasn’t usual.

All day Sunday (Father’s Day), I had contractions. I stayed in bed or in my recliner and simply kept a watch on my contractions, and took warm baths to help ease some of the pain. We went to bed that night and by 1am, I was crying and moaning through the contractions. Something HAD to be happening. We went in and I had dilated to maybe 1 cm.

O. M. G… Seriously?!? Yes… Seriously. And they were going to send me home again. I fought against it. By the end of that two hour wait, I was so uncomfortable. I couldn’t sit any longer. Walking helped, but not much. The contractions made the pelvic pain so much worse than I felt I could stand. Finally, the nurse came in once again an hour later to tell me my options and insisted that she check me. I also believe she tried to ‘help’ the dilation along because I had gone from that measly 1cm to 4cm. She called my OB and came back  and said “Congratulations, you just booked yourself a c-section at 7:30am!”

I cried. I was so ready to not be in pain, but was so unsure if she was ready since I had JUST made it to 37 weeks that morning.

My section was bumped to 9:30 due to an emergency one. By then, I had no idea how much further I had dilated, but there was no going back. I knew it. The pain was VERY intense, and I shook, cried, and moaned uncontrollably through contractions. I wish now that I had an idea of how far I had dilated just for curiosity’s sake.

Funny thing about c-sections, once they begin – it’s super fast and over before you know it. I was wheeled in and being prepped at 9 and by 9:35, I heard the cries of my little girl. And this time, I got to see her because they took the blue sheet down far enough for me to see as the doctor suctioned her and cut the cord.

And just like that, I had 2 kids. One, so happy to be a big brother, and the other just as happy, content and healthy as could be to be out of her cramped living space and out in the world. She was perfectly healthy with only a dip in BG after birth that was brought back up with some formula while I recovered with no NICU time.

11539605_839524676133155_1847701698032299818_n

As far as my BG the whole time? I owe a HUGE thank you to the Nightscout team – both for the push to get Dexcom to release Share and for them to have the Pebble app be able to get the info from my Share account so that I could be monitored VERY closely with just a glance by my husband at his watch, and my Dexcom and phone be tucked away in his pocket. Oh, and the medical staff was super impressed ( nurse: “hey, what’s her BG?” husband: “136” OB while cutting me open: “awesome!”… yeah… that’s pretty darn awesome!!)

12 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes, Pregnancy

12 responses to “Long time, no blog… The big update.

  1. I’m sorry your labor wasn’t the smoothest but glad she came safe and sound 🙂

  2. Again, congrats on your new little one!

  3. Congrats!! Thanks for sharing the story. 🙂

  4. Julie

    Congratulations! I am a T1D for 50 yrs, and have a 19yr old and 16yr old. Life is good 🙂

  5. Yay! I have been stalking you on Twitter as I waited for this update (in a non-creepy way of course) ! 😀 Huge congratulations, she is beautiful 🙂 so inspiring to read about all these beautiful babies and their type 1 mamas

  6. Thanks for the update! Congratulations!! I’m so glad things ended up well. 🙂 And your blood sugar, awesome!

  7. Susie

    Congratulations Sarah! I’d been waiting to see this post 🙂 Welcome to your little girl x

  8. Congratulations, Sarah! You ad your newborn baby look great!!

  9. Congratulations on your beautiful girl! I hope you’re feeling okay.

Leave a Reply

