Getting Closer To A Decision

It’s no secret that I am someone who can’t seem to make up their mind when it comes to diabetes devices. Granted, I have (according to my Countdown app) 19 more months until my current t:slim pump warranty expires, so I do have some time to mull over this – which is a good thing. I don’t think that choosing a pump should be a quick decision for anyone, nor should it be one that a doctor should make for you – one should have the time to research all available options and to do as much research as possible. You are sorta “stuck” with the decision you make for a while – at least 4 years, 5 years for some, if insurance paid for it, so it needs to be a good one. And it should be one that you listen to your gut about as well.

I do have a Medtronic pump and while I have no issues with the pump itself in how it fits into my life – I do have issues with their CGM system and prefer Dexcom whole-heartedly over it. I’m not saying it’s a bad system, just that it doesn’t work for everyone and I’m one of those people. Which brings me to my next point.

Seeing as how they (Medtronic) will probably never answer the clicking of my ruby slippers and wishful thinking and offer a pump that also integrates with Dexcom, I’ll always have two separate data systems to look at when viewing my data. My endocrinologist works very closely with me and allows me to make tweaks as I see that they need to be done. He knows that I fully understand how my pumps work and also knows that I have taken time to study how my body works. And until this pregnancy, I never really cared about the data being separate. Now? It’s a huge deal to me. Maybe I’m losing my touch or I just don’t have the time to upload and analyze like I did before, but the separated systems irritated me to the point that I stopped making my own tweaks. And while I absolutely LOVE my endo to pieces, his office is busier and he doesn’t always have the time to get back with me.

Bml2kFtpQGCSt6NS.jpg

So, I’ve made a big part of my decision. Any system that I use HAS to upload to Diasend for Dexcom integrated reports. I don’t care whether the Dexcom is integrated into a pump at this point because I have the Dexcom Share receiver and it fits me and my needs better than having it integrated into a pump would.

I also know how my particular insurance works, so I also know that pumps that are partly disposable (ie, the Snap by Asante and the Omnipod by Insulet) will not be choices in my line-up due to on-going costs. I totally get that up-front, it’s cheaper, but I’d rather pay more upfront and have lower monthly costs than commit to a pump that I may not be able to afford supplies for. These pumps are good pumps as well, but for me, it’s a financial factor that’s swaying me.

And, to go back to Medtronic’s system for just a minute, cost is a factor there too. While I could just go back and order a Revel pump still and use the Dexcom separate – why would I want to get a pump that I know I’m not going to use it for it’s full functionality? It’s sort of a waste of money if you ask me, and not an option I can bring myself to choose.

So, that leaves me with either:

  • Tandem again (which hopefully their new t:slim G4 will be available and the upgrades they make to other things in the pump – like reverse correction – will make it better, though I’m sort of leery about going back with them after all of the problems I’ve had with that particular pump),
  • Accu-check – though I’m not a fan of having to use their dedicated remote for bolus calculations since it’s not built into the pump, and you have to use the integrated meter to even use the bolus calculator (you can’t input a manual reading to base it off of like you can with other systems), or
  • Animas – which seems to be a strong contender as I do like their Ping and I’ve honestly not had any issues with the pump or customer service from them, and it also works with Diasend. Plus, the Ping has a remote to bolus with, with FULL calculations, not just an “easy-bolus” of a pre-determined amount.

In short, I’ve made a decision really to stick to Dexcom, Diasend, and one of those three pumps. It’s just deciding which one of those now that I’m left to make the choice between, which I’m sure I’ll continue to think and weigh options between them over the next few..okay, several… months.

3 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

3 responses to “Getting Closer To A Decision

  1. Integrated data is what has kept me with Medtronic for so long — but there has to be a way to get the data into another system like Diasend or Tidepool. I believe the DIYPS uses a Carelink USB dongle to get MedT data to and from a program that is *not* Carelink, and I’ve also heard that Nightscout can get MedT sensor data as well.

    I don’t know how either of them have done it (this post has motivated me to look), but it can be done, and with the momentum we have going now, I’m pretty confident it WILL be done. (I might even be willing to try it myself; never mind that I haven’t programmed anything in 15 years or so).

  2. My Vibe review is long overdue and won’t be nearly as thorough as you would write. However, my conclusion will be that there is no pump out there that I consider “ideal.”

  3. I believe the new “Ping” doesn’t have the remote any more. 😦

Leave a Reply

