Discovering Me

941309_531121593640133_1802882583_nLately, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. Trying to go through and “fix” whatever this is that has been happening to me over the past few months. For a while, I blamed the stream of highs that I was having. Then, I blamed it on the fact that I’m back in college, and this has been the hardest, most demanding of the semesters yet. I blamed it on the fact that maybe I haven’t gotten enough sleep, even though I was sleeping close to 11 hours a day, and still having to try to keep myself awake at work. SO many things crossed my mind that I was creating a mental fog on my own that I just couldn’t get out of and over.  Then I read the introduction to Dr. Mark Hyman’s book, The UltraMind Solution, as suggested by my friend, Ginger Vieria. While I haven’t had time to finish the book (due to, you know, all of that school stuff), the very first part of it made so much sense. Why try to pinpoint one thing and fix it? You have to look at the entire picture. I’m not a medical doctor, but I can tell you, that just from the understanding that our bodies are an awesomely engineered machine with many different little machines all collectively working together to make this flesh-bag of blood, bones, and muscles all work together, you cannot think that just because one area is going faulty that it’s only that sole part that needs fixing. It’s a collective unit that needs to be looked at as a whole. To see that it’s a possibility that maybe that one area of mechanics may be failing not because of trauma or lack of energy within itself, but it maybe a result of another system malfunctioning. Each and every one of us are a wonderfully, awe-fully (not meaning that in the definition of terrible, but in the definition that suggests extreme awe… like awesome), and beautifully created works of art and machinery systems. Intricately made system by system, and they all have to work together in a certain way to make us feel our best. We have to take care of these systems and give them what they need to do their jobs best. I know I’m probably not making much sense and I’m really probably sounding like I’m running around my butt to get to my elbow, but I promise I’m making a point.
That point is this. Over the past week or so, I’ve been on my own road of self-discovery and and am finding things that I need to work on incorporating in (like more vitamins, mainly vitamin D, and more water) and out (less soda, no gluten instead of just limited amounts) of my life to make me work better as a whole. Thing that seemed to only make a short impact have been making BIG impacts that I didn’t want to see. Slowly, I’m regaining some of my strength from the exhaustion I’ve had over the past month and a half. I’m getting much better blood sugars. I’m getting an overall better me. And that’s a great thing for others in my life.
4 Comments

Filed under dblog

4 responses to “Discovering Me

  1. Good to hear you’re looking at the bigger picture and adjusting where needed. Best you way, Sarah!

  2. Gary

    Really great post Sarah. It all makes sense. I need to start that my own self. Thank you

  3. Good luck Sarah as you continue your journey of discovery amidst all the busyness and change in your life. Type 1 just likes to remind us that doing the right things doesn’t always lead to good results.

    BTW I love all of the new photos you’ve posted.

  4. Good for you, Sarah! Good luck with school, too.

Leave a Reply

