Deciding on the Meter

Last month, when I was contemplating on using the Ping full-time after the whole Omnipod billing issue, I asked my endo to call in a standing prescription for OneTouch Ultra strips. Well, when CVS received it, they filled it. It was time to get strips anyway, and I really didn’t want to tell them to cancel it and fill the Verios instead (I hate to do something like that… I feel like people either think I’m crazy or they hate me for it) since I gave my Ping to a friend and I’m on the t:slim for good.  Sooo I picked them up thinking I had a few Ultra Mini meters at home. Weeeeelllll, I searched everywhere… home.. work.. everywhere. Could.Not.Find them.

So, here I was, with 300 strips for the monthly fill that I now could not return, and I didn’t want to pay $20 for a meter I would only use for a month. Well, as it would happen, Walgreens is having a sale now until the end of the month that with a Walgreens card and the monthly coupon book, you can get one for $10. Still is expensive sorta.. but hey, I’d rather pay half than full. And right now, OneTouch is not running any “free meter” specials on their site, so I had to bite the bullet and pay for one.

And, hey, IT’S PURPLE!

IMG_5681

Then, my curiosity got to me. I knew they they usually ran a little lower, but I wanted to see just how much – on average for me – the Ultra was than the Verio. Note, I am not comparing them on accuracy because this is not being done in a lab setting, but I am only comparing how they compare on average to each other.

Test

On an overall average difference, the Ultra Mini/ Ultra strips ran 21.8mg/dL lower than the Verio IQ meter and strips. Now, that sounds like it would be a sure fire thing for me to choose the Verio based on since it tends to run higher, that would mean I would get better A1c’s in the long run.  BUT in 3 out of the 5 tests, the Verio IQ had a wider variance between the three individual BG tests than the Ultra Mini, but not by much. Looking as a total average though, the variance between them were 13mg/dL for Verio IQ and 12mg/dL for the Ultra Mini, which is hardly anything to look at.

So, I think it all just boils down to which meter you feel comfortable with. Granted, this wasn’t a lab test with carefully created glucose solution, but I did make sure to use repetitive procedure for all tests (clean hands, using a second drop of blood and not the first).

Honestly, I’ll probably use all but a couple of bottles and just go back to using the Verio. As long as I’m testing, that’s all that should matter.

2 Comments

Filed under dblog

2 responses to “Deciding on the Meter

  1. That is a cool offer at Walgreens and recently I found that Accu-Check is giving out a free meter which has 2 variants. Maybe you can give a try on this offer also.

  2. I’m planning to try Freestyle next time I order strips based on the study published at Diabetes Daily recently: http://www.diabetesdaily.com/voices/2013/07/blood-glucose-meter-accuracy-comparison-chart/

    I haven’t methodically compared my One Touch Verio to my One Touch Ping Meter, but all I know is that when I use two readings as the start-up for my Dexcom G4, I can get huge differences with the Verio as well as with the Ping meter. I’m talking 139, then 98. Or 160, then 128. But sometimes it’s 93, then 94. It’s a wonder that all of us aren’t certifiably crazy.

    Talked with a d-friend today who mentioned problems with Freestyle. So I probably won’t find it to be much better than my current meters. In January I will start new insurance because my state-sponsored high-risk pool insurance will disappear with ObamaCare. I hope to be able to know ahead of time what meters and strips will be formulary, but it’s a scary proposition.

Leave a Reply

