The Real Reason

IMG_5108Earlier last month month, I learned that my Animas Ping was actually not under warranty until July of 2014, but rather the warranty had already run out. And as much as I love the system, I don’t feel comfortable wearing it all of the time because I don’t want something to happen to it and I’m out a good back-up/as-needed insulin pump with no way to replace it other than pay for a new one. Animas did just replace it in November, so it should be okay, but I just don’t want to take the risk right now. And without going through a whole appeal with doctors note thing and possibly having a denial anyway, there’s no way I’ll get one for another 3 1/2 years thanks to my decision to get the t:slim back in December.

I have a confession to make.

I really only had two reasons why I went back to the Ping anyway. One, after going to the Diabetes Sisters event, I felt that since I didn’t have tubing or a pump clipped to my belt, that my “calling-card” was not there. That I was a non-diabetic in a place full of diabetics showing off their bionic parts. After so long of trying to hide tubing from the outside world and not show off that I wear a pump or that I have something attached to me, the one time I wanted it was then because it’s almost an instantaneous kindred-ship when you and another d-person are brought together to talk because they see your tubing, you see theirs, and there’s just that mutual “fellow pumper” feeling. STUPID, I know. {You’re probably sitting back thinking, Yep, this girl is uber-crazy. RUN!}

The final straw as to why I switched back to the Ping to begin with was because I had gone to a party and left my PDM at home with no way to bolus. Silly, I know, but I was so embarrased by it. I felt as if I had let myself down. I felt more like a diabetic then than I had ever felt because I honestly, at that time, couldn’t participate in enjoying the food because I wouldn’t be able to bolus for it. I felt so angry at myself for leaving the PDM at home and putting myself in that situation that I said I wouldn’t be stuck like that again, and that I would use the Ping since, if I left the remote at home, I could at least bolus from the pump itself.

But, in light of finding out I have no warranty on it and with summer being here (POOL TIME!!!), I put on my Omnipod system again. I wrote about it a couple of weeks ago and how much I loved wearing summer dresses again freely. And I have enjoyed it so much. I’ve also enjoyed painting the pods to look “pretty”. It’s also much easier to deal with than having a pump clipped to me and worrying if my kidlet is going to play with the buttons. As much as I’ve always said I feel safer with the tubes, this time, I actually don’t mind it. After listening to someone’s suggestion about pinching up in an area I usually have trouble with when it’s inserted, I’ve not really had any issues. I honestly – from the bottom of my heart – can’t find a reason as of right now to not use it. Not to mention, my bg’s have been SO much better since using it.

I’ll probably still switch off later {knowing me, anyway}, but as for the summer, it would probably be best to use the Omnipod with as much water as I’ll be around. I don’t want to miss a crack or something in the Ping and ruin it.

 

3 Comments

Filed under dblog

3 responses to “The Real Reason

  1. Sounds like you have the best of both worlds and more flexibility than most of us Pumpers have. I’m going on a beach vacation later this summer and will use Lantus for my basal, but it would be really cool to be able to use the Omnipod then. Although my Ping is waterproof, I feel more comfortable keeping it out of the ocean. At least with the Omnipod, it’s not a catastrophe if it is lost or quits working in the salt water.

  2. You younguns who switch among different kinds of pumps amaze me – I get so used to 1 kind of thing, it works for me, and I never have the desire to switch from it. I guess I’m just too lazy to learn something new, even if there’s the possibility I MIGHT like it better. 🙂

  3. If the Ping is out of warranty, I would still think you could use it. If it breaks, the Omnipod could be your backup. No point in tossing the pump in the trash now just because it doesn’t have the replacement warranty on it.

Leave a Reply

