The mySugr App

It seems that having different ways of spelling “sugar” is catching on.. and I like it! ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’m not talking about “suga” today, I’m talking about sugr.. as in mySugr… new diabetes logging app on the block. Well, it’s not new… it’s been overseas since 2011, but isn’t that usually the case? Thank you, FDA.

My journey with the app began in late 2011 / early 2012 when I saw a post on a fellow d-friend from Australia’s wall on Facebook. I looked at the website, but there wasn’t much to being able to see how the app worked, so I emailed the nice people over at mySugr to see if I could have a way to see the app in action. When Fredrik Debong emailed me with an invite to Skype about the app, I was excited.

mySugr MonsterWe spoke for about an hour at length about the app and what all had gone into development. We spoke stories of our childhood and our diabetes and compared how things were for me here in the US verses for him in Sweden and Australia. At the core of the discussion was how tedious and mundane diabetes management is and how the least bit of encouragement and fun that can be placed into taking care of ourselves can improve our outlook on our diabetes and ourself. And that is where Fredrik said the idea of mySugr was born.

I left that conversation with an excitement for the app even more than I had before. I was given the ability to be an alpha tester for the app to help see how I liked the app and to see what I thought needed improving or not. I remember when the little monster was just a square composed of 9 little blocks that would move around and make sounds when you entered information. Even in it’s beginning stages, the app was cool.

Now, over the past year or so, they’ve worked and improved things tremendously, added lots of cool features, and it even now has a cute buggy-eyed monster that you can name. (Mine’s name is Suga, by the way.) Each entry adds points towards your daily point goal, of which can help unlock premium features. There are also challenges that you can sign up for as well, one involving their partnership with JDRF where you “can do 30 minutes of sports within 2 days and collect points for the community. The points are collected, the more money is donated.” And doing this? Earns you 3 days of Pro features. How cool is that? So, if you don’t want to pay for pro features, at least there is a way to earn it… and I must say, it’s quite fun to do so.

I have been so very anxious and excited for this app to finally come to the US, and it has now (well, as of yesterday…. but who’s counting?). If you’re a manual logger for any reason, I highly suggest this app above all of the others (and trust me, I’ve tried and paid for a LOT of them, and this tops them all in my opinion). I have to admit though, I don’t use it very often now, but before t:connect came out for the Tandem t:slim, this was my go-to logging app. The interface, ease of use, and awesome reports all work together in a nice little package that somehow makes you want to keep logging.ย It’s cool, fun and functional. It’s easy to use and engages you so that it’s not boring old logging, but fun logging. And really, can you resist not seeing that cute little monster above?? (And seriously, it’s sound is even cuter…. you’ve been warned.)

Here’s a little video to give you a better idea of the app:

And, here’s another little video the guys have put together to show you how it is used throughout the day.

Living with the mySugr Companion from mySugr on Vimeo.
Right now, you can get the app for free from the AppStore, and you can upgrade to Pro (in-app purchase) for half-price during the next two weeks. So go on! Give it a try!

Disclaimer: I was not paid to write about this app nor to endorse it. As stated above, I had been working with Fredrik for well over a year and believed in him and his story so much, and knew the backstory about the app from him and I know that this is a project from his and his co-founder’s hearts. I was in love with this app at first sight and still am.. which is a lot to say coming from me who regularly downloads and deletes these types of apps. I do full-heartedly recommend this app.

1 Comment

Filed under dblog

One response to “The mySugr App

  1. Hi Sarah!

    Thank you sooo much for your great article! ๐Ÿ™‚ You have been a great help in making it even better โ€“ your input on the monster was great and part of the reason for us giving it a face!

    You are amazing,
    Fredrik

Leave a Reply

