Trialing The Omnipod… again.

I still haven’t made a decision on what I’m going to do yet as far as pumps are concerned. I do really like the t:slim. It’s a great pump, and I wouldn’t not recommend it. It’s just that the slim doesn’t reverse correct until I’m already too low for my comfort and it can’t be used with Apidra. Others have had success with it, but it just doesn’t play well with it for me. I may even still go back to it. Mostly because, sans those two factors, it is a great system with great software (in my opinion, anyway).

So… here goes. I contacted Omnipod about a month ago and they said I could go through the Cut the Cord program. They worked on getting my insurance verified, and after a month, they had everything ready to go. I still contemplated on not getting the system at all, but I really wanted a system that would calculate the IOB like I needed it to, would reverse-correct like I needed, and would easily show me the IOB too. I came to rely heavily on having that info right at hand with the t:slim, and the Omnipod would show it too right there on the status screen. So I thought that while I’m trialing it, I would share a few pictures showing the size difference between the old pods and the new pods. I do absolutely love how small they are now. Much easier to hide and I don’t feel like they’re going to be knocked off. And that’s really all I have to say about it for now. So I’ll leave you with a few pictures. 🙂

 

So far, I do like being tubeless. I’m liking the new smaller size a lot because it’s not as visible as to what I’m doing (unlike with the t:slim where a lot of people thought I was actually texting – moreso than with any other pump I’ve ever used – and I would get disapproving looks shot to me). And not having an insulin pump on my hip all the time but rather having the controller in my bag leads me to think before I eat, instead of just reaching for the pump to dial in an added bolus. I’m still undecided though. There are things that have to be thought out like if I want to keep using the built-in meter or go back to my beloved Verio? And will the cannula length prove to be an issue again? Will I go back through pod failure after pod failure as I had before? Only time will tell. I have enough supplies for a few months, so we’ll see. And hopefully soon, Tandem will submit a t:slim update to let the reverse-correction limit be a user-defined one. Because even though it’s not a big deal to some, it’s a huge deal to me… and I really would like to use it without having to think of how much to over-ride the calculator.

 

In the meantime, I need to free myself of my other systems. I need to find a place to donate them or a way I that I can send them to others who really need them. 

3 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

3 responses to “Trialing The Omnipod… again.

  1. Thank you for sharing the pics and your thoughts about the new system. Looks like I’ll have to dream about it for some time to come. (Come on already, Insulet!!!!)

  2. Thank you for sharing pictures and your experience with the Omnipod. Although my daughter is sticking with MDI for now, I like keeping up on the new pumps and CGMs. I like that they made the new pods smaller. They seemed really big to me, especially for a small child. Good luck!

  3. Pingback: This is why… | SarahKaye

Leave a Reply

