Pulling Out The Tape… For Now…

I just can’t do it. I can’t bring myself to break up. So I’m pulling out the tape to mend things for now. I just feel like part of the problem is me. I mean, why else would such a “smart pump” be pushed through the FDA with their new strict guidelines, right? Obviously, the pump can’t be the whole fault of what’s going on, right?

A friend of mine messaged me over lunch and said that they had been using Apidra successfully since the new cartridges had been issued. So, I decided to give it one more go. Before the breakup.

IMG_4110

I also went and printed out all of everything I could of all the data available to me so that I can seriously go through everything with a fine-tooth comb and re-reevaluate everything….

IMG_4113

I also pulled out my Pumping Insulin book again… just for the heck of it. Because it’s my go-to when I have to fix these sorts of problems. When I did, there was a link in fine print that I never noticed before for Open Source Diabetes’ tool, Optimal Insulin Pump Settings Tool. Of course, there is a slight disclaimer to use this tool {Isn’t there always?}

SOFTWARE SHOULD BE USED ONLY AS A GUIDE TO INSULIN DOSES OR MEDICAL DECISIONS AND NEVER RELIED UPON AS A SOLE SOURCE. INSULIN REQUIREMENTS AND TREATMENTS DIFFER FROM PERSON TO PERSON. THIS SOFTWARE CAN NEVER SUBSTITUTE FOR SOUND MEDICAL ADVICE FROM YOUR PHYSICIAN OR HEALTH CARE TEAM. WHILE EVERY REASONABLE PRECAUTION HAS BEEN TAKEN IN THIS SOFTWARE, THE AUTHORS ASSUME NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ERRORS, USE OR MISUSE OF SOFTWARE, NOR FOR ANY DECISIONS THAT USERS MAY MAKE RELATIVE TO ITS USE. THE AUTHORS SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR DIRECT, INDIRECT, SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES ARISING OUT THE USE OF OR INABILITY TO PROPERLY USE THIS SOFTWARE.

Of course, then you have to agree that you will not use any of the settings provided until you have spoken with your medical team and given the go-ahead to use them… which I am not admitting that I did or didn’t do.

So…  All that being said… I looked over the suggestions and created a separate profile in my pump with the new suggested settings…

IMG_4115

Will this be the magical fix and solve all of my problems? I doubt it. It may cause more. It may not. I don’t know, but this is a possible last-time full-on attempt to make this work. No promises or hopes.

2 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

2 responses to “Pulling Out The Tape… For Now…

  1. Hoping the best for you, sweetie… IKR? It is a ‘smart pump’, but you have rased some decent points about it. Looking forward to good news about the new settings.

Leave a Reply

