Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

… when you like {insert whomever or whatever you’re breaking up with} so much.

First, let me say that Tandem is an absolutely great company and their customer service is top-notch. I even have my favorite people’s extensions saved into my iPhone (Hi Danica and Andrew!!!!!!). These people rock, and I love them to pieces.

I like the t:slim. I really do. But things that didn’t seem like a big deal before, are becoming that little monster that grows and grows over time.

2011-11-22_Broken-Heart-Syndrome_broken-heart-300x274One thing – the biggest part of the monster – is the whole IOB / reverse-correction bolus calculation. I’ve blogged about this before, and I’ve tried to deal with it and try to figure out what’s going on. I was even excited to see the new t:connect software be available to us so that I could go back over time and analyze my “stuff” and try to figure out where the heck I’m going wrong. But truth is, I can’t find anything. And I’m doing everything the same way that I have for years as far as eating schedules and such, and I’ve never had this much of a problem. I know others that do have the same issue, and others that don’t. Maybe I’m trying to be too “in-control”… but isn’t that what a “compliant” patient should do? I just honestly feel like to be able to use this pump safely, I would have to back off on insulin to remain higher so that the likelihood of the lows lessens, and I’m not sure I’m comfortable with having higher numbers. I’m a crappy witch when I’m high. Some just say to dial down the dose myself… but things like that (overriden boluses) are recorded in the pump… and depending on how your endo or PCP may see it, you can either be a non-compliant patient and not trust your pump which causes issues, or you can be a super-compliant patient who is smart enough to correct a pending mistake. But, honestly, should I constantly have to override a “smart pump”?

The other thing is insulin itself. I cannot use Apidra, so I have been settling for Novolog. Novolog is good, but it’s not great. Plus, I have a seriously long “tail” of insulin that I think is causing “stacking” as they call it. And since Apidra doesn’t always play nice with the t:slim… it is sort of hit and miss when it works and when it doesn’t. Several theories are out there as to why Apidra doesn’t work with it, but either way, some have success with it, others have utter failure with it… I’m sort of in the middle. I can go two or three cartridges with it and do fine, and then the next two will be crappy, causing constant change-outs.

There are a few other things about it that bug me, but they aren’t big enough to cause an uproar about (like, why the heck does it take 10 more units of insulin to prime than any other pump with a luer-lock connector?… and holy crap the change-out takes forever!). I don’t mean to say that I totally hate the t:slim either… because I don’t. I just don’t think it is the “perfect fit” that I thought it was in the beginning. I’m heavily contemplating breaking up with it… just for a while. Maybe not forever.. but just for a couple of months or so. Who knows, maybe I’ll pull out the tape and put the little heart back together. We’ll see. I think I’m just more upset with myself for getting so excited and worked up over a system that I thought was finally “it”, and it wasn’t. I feel like a dumb-hat about it.

4 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

4 responses to “Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

  1. Sorry you’re breaking up, but it comes down to what’s best for you. Coolness and slickness of tech aren’t priorities, as many find. But wow – had NO CLUE about it taking that much insulin to prime!!! That’s ridiculous!

    • sarahkaye

      I totally agree, Mike. And yeah, the coolness and sleekness are good, but what made me fall in love with it was the ability to set total “profiles”, and not just separate basal rates. It really does have great medical tech features, but they just don’t seem to be enough for me right now to stay with it. Granted, I may change my mind in a month and decide that the profiles are totally worth the hassle. We’ll see. 🙂

  2. You have to do what is right for you and your own care. Don’t feel bad for that. Some of the issues bug me too but in my own case it comes down to being able to see this pump while having difficulty seeing the Animas Ping screen…so I have a huge reason to stay with this one. I also have never used Apidra so it is not an issue for me but if I were to use a particular insulin that has difficulty in a pump it would be a huge determinant for me. Don’t feel guilty for turning away, whether it is short term or long term. No one pump is perfect for everyone!

  3. Pingback: Pulling Out The Tape… For Now… | SarahKaye

Leave a Reply

