Just When You Think You Got It

You don’t.

Like me with pizza. I had that stuff figured out. I knew exactly how to bolus in such a way that I didn’t have a terrible low followed by a terrible high. Now? Nope. Nada. Zilch. The past two times I’ve tried, I end up sick as a dog and high as a kite following a low that would make you contemplate bringing out the Glucagon and having it “locked and loaded”. So, needless to say, I think pizza and I are going to have to break up. I just can’t do it. Not even on special occasions.


This week? I’ve had some kinda something going on. Whether it’s a cold or sinus infection or whatever, I’ve had chest congestion and muffled-ear-syndrome (that’s what I call it, anyway) since Monday, and have been taking decongestants for it, and awaiting the super-high bg’s that usually  follow…. except that’s not what’s happening…. it’s quite the opposite, actually:

3 day hourly

Granted, I’ve been drinking water like a camel to try to get my voice back, but wow! Should it make that much of a difference? I would have thought that the decongestant and the water would have balanced things out a bit. Weird how diabetes works! I’m still checking my bgs like, a ton, because when I see a double digit number instead of a triple digit number on the Dexcom, I think it’s wrong…. ESPECIALLY if it’s telling me I’m low. I’m talking, I didn’t believe I was hanging in the 50’s when I woke up in the morning.

But it is what it is… and what it is is ever-changing. Just when you think you got it, erase that from your brain because you don’t. It might not be the next time, or the next month, or even next year, but somehow things will change and how you think you should handle something may not be how it needs to be handled. The only constant is diabetes itself.

1 Comment

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

One response to “Just When You Think You Got It

  1. Sarah, I have about given up pizza and only eat it as a last resort. Whereas other 180 lb men around me eat 3 or 4 pieces, I am now down to one slice and for that I blow in 50 grams of carbs. Its just not worth it.

Leave a Reply

