Leveling Up

Several weeks ago, Ethan Lewis, the founder of Level Foods and inventor of Level Life glucose gel emailed me to see if I would like some samples of his product to try. Unfortunately, somehow his email was sent to spam and I just recently got it! Good thing I went snooping for another email!

So, first, a little about Ethan. According to his bio, he was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes at the age of 12. Lows were scary for him. But treating them with other things like soda and candy would be even more frustrating because of the swing they cause. His mission? To create a way to treat lows so that there were no bouncy after effect. Just a nice, quick way to raise blood sugar levels to they would come up and level off.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve had some pretty nasty glucose gel before. I’ve had some good ones too. I was sort of skeptical about this product because when it comes to treating sugars with glucose products, rarely are they tasty and good enough to want to keep treating with them…. and that’s key. I have made a pact with myself to treat only with glucose products and not other stuff since the first of the year, so being able to treat with a variety of options is key to keep from getting “glucose burnout” – – and not the meter kind.

Level

First thing I did was bolus for one and taste it. After all, when you’re low, you don’t care quite as much about taste as you do when you’re at a good glucose level. These are pretty good. My favorite is the Strawberry-Banana. Vanilla and Orange are good too, but I just can’t take the Caramel one. I’ve never been a caramel fan, so I guess that’s no surprise.

Level flavors

The big test – do they work? Yes. I have to say, I have treated lows easily with these. All you have to do is rip off the top tab and just sort of push the gel into your mouth. No powder, no chalky tabs. Easy glucose that’s fast to take. And they work quite fast. Within 10-15 minutes, my sugar level was back up to normal with only one time having to re-treat.

Cost? Not bad actually. One pack has 3 squeeze packs and they’re like, $3.50 or so at Wal-Mart when I checked. And, if you really want to try them out, Ethan emailed me the link for a $2 coupon for you guys!!

But you know what’s really sweet? (HA! Sweet! Sweet? Get it?) I have a give-a-away. Your very own box with one of each flavor plus some coupons for more!

Level Give-A-Way

All you have to do is leave me a comment here that includes “Level Life”!!! I’ll do a random number picker to choose the winner on Thursday of next week and let you know March 1. So please share away on Twitter and Facebook!!! 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes, FridayFind

7 responses to “Leveling Up

  1. Awesome, I can’t wait to try this Level Life brand! I’ve been using the Gu gel pouches for a few years but only the chocolate flavor because it has 20g carbs (all other flavors have 25g).

  2. I’ve tried the Level Life gels before and noticed they are incredibly sweet — almost too sweet for my tongue which has grown accustomed to non-sugary tastes over the years. While reading the package during the wait for my sugar to come back up after consuming one of these, I noticed it contains sucralose – a non-caloric sweetener – in addition to the regular blood-sugar-raising sweet stuff. I wonder why. Does it have to do with flavor? Maybe making it taste super-sweet prevents the tendency to overtreat? I wonder. But yes, it works – and works faster than glucose tabs – which is why I keep them in the glove compartment of my car.

  3. Amelia Jordan

    I have only every used the ReliOn Glucose tabs, so Level Life glucose gel would be something new. I am eager to try though!! I hate it when I am chowing down on a chalking tab and it hits a sensitive spot in my teeth Youch.

  4. Cool! I’ve tried the Level Life gels once and I also really liked them. But I am on an extremely tight budget and cannot afford to pay $3.50 to correct three lows…..for the same price I can get about 15 juice boxes (to correct 15 lows). I’d love to be able to treat with something like the gel, but it’s just not feasible for me.

  5. Allison

    Level Life is the way I treat lows with out over treating. They have helped a lot but my local store only has the orange it would be nice to try the other three flavors.

  6. Gary Cunningham

    Level Life looks good to me. I am going to check at Walmart here. Thanks

  7. Pingback: And The Winner Is…. | Sugabetic.Me

Leave a comment