Deficient in “D”eed

At my endocrinologist appointment last week, I requested that my endo test my vitamin D levels because of some reports as well as other blogs of other type 1’s that said those levels can be low. While he disagreed that there is a link to type one but rather type 2, he still agreed to do the test.
Along with my thyroid results and my A1c, the voicemail that his nurse left said that the results were very low and that he wanted to start me on a once per week vitamin replacement for 16 weeks and retest. So, I’m waiting on that prescription to be filled and add yet another pill to my regime.
I’m wondering if it will have any impact on my blood sugars at all since some low vitamin D levels have been linked to insulin resistance.

6 Comments

Filed under dblog

6 responses to “Deficient in “D”eed

  1. About a year ago, my endo put me on 1000 IU of Vitamin D per day; he was doing it for all his patients. I can’t say I noticed any difference one way or another.

    I just used plain old over-the-counter Vitamin D tablets I bought at one of those warehouse-club stores. In some D-circles I’ve heard a special variant (D4 I think) is the one to use, though I wasn’t told that by my doctor so I didn’t get it. My wife (non-D) once had a doctor tell her that her vitamin D levels were low; I forget why she saw the doctor to begin with; but she was put on 10,000 IU per day (prescription strength). Ever since then, and even after stopping it, she’s gotten nasty, itchy skin rashes every so often; she’s convinced that the very-high levels (ten times more than I take) triggered something in her body. Neither of us get a lot of sun or drink a lot of milk; I believe both are the most common sources of Vitamin D for people.

    How much are you being asked to take? If it’s a prescription-strength, you might want to ramp up gradually before shocking your system with a huge amount.

    • sugabetic

      He sent in an RX for 50,000 IU, one pill once per week.

      • Yikes! I’ll admit that I know very little about Vitamin D (other than what I just wrote), but seeing that he was reluctant to look at Vitamin D to begin with, that seems pretty aggressive. I’d strongly suggest going a little more gradual with it. I also believe that nearly EVERYBODY who is tested is found to be Vitamin D deficient – the labs have an extraordinarily high threshold and I know of nobody, in my limited surveys, who have been “in range”. I’d just suggest being cautious, and that smaller doses throughout the week might be better than a shockingly high dose once a week. (Normal disclaimers apply; I really have no idea what I’m talking about!)

      • Elizabeth

        I have to agree with Scott that that dosage sounds astronomically high for just one dose! I take 5,000 IU/day in winter (so 35,000 IU/wk cumulatively) and 3,000 IU/day in summer (when I’m out in the sun more). Not saying that you should take the same dosage as me, but just saying that spreading it out over the days of the week could be better for overall absorption and promotion of *stable* D levels, rather than a once a week binge. (Though I am not a medical professional, so I’m offering this merely as encouragement for you to ask more questions/pursue more information on this dosage matter.)

        Also, calcium helps with Vitamin D absorption, so take D with a dairy food (or a calcium supplement).

        I haven’t yet read this book, but have been meaning to, as the author is a medical professor at UCLA and also the director of the Jamila Diabetes & Endocrine Medical Center. (So he is probably quite familiar with our “diabetes & vitamin D deficient” scenario.) It has very positive reviews on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Power-Vitamin-Comprehensive-Information-Deficiency/dp/1432748106

        Hope that helps!

      • sugabetic

        Thanks for the info, Elizabeth!! šŸ™‚

    • Lee

      Mine was low too. My endo had me go onto 2000iu each morning and now I’m normal, albeit low normal. Took just a couple of months.

Leave a Reply

