It Has Arrived!

Yesterday, FedEx delivered the most wonderful WDD present ever! My new Dexcom G4 system! AAH!! I was and still am super stoked about this thing! I immediately went through and opened it and did all I had to do to get it set up (you know, charging it, etc, etc, etc). Which, thank the LORD I have friends who already use it. I had to text Stacey a few times about the battery {long story}.

One thing I will mention though is that a lot of people who have their system have raved about better accuracy out-of-the-box than the Seven+ system. I didn’t find this to be true at all for me. Mine took about 3 extra calibrations spread about 20 minutes apart for it to read right. But, once I did that, it read MUCH closer than the Seven +.

But, since I haven’t used it but a day, I’ll do a full review later. Until then, here’s some pictures {because everyone loves pictures, right?}…

I love that my Verio meter and the G4 fit comfortably in my zipper compartment of my wallet!

The sensor is way thicker to me. And Kip noticed it too… he’s never noticed the bump from my CGM before.

Comparison to the Verio meter size.

Side view! They’re *almost* the same thickness!

Comparison to the thickness of the Seven+

They’ve stayed very close so far.

Hmm…

Overall, I do like the G4 system much better just because it’s more portable it seems. Also, I like that the colors indicate where your BG is or has been is great because highlights the areas easier to see. I also like that the keys are “softer” and barely have the clicking noise, though they seem harder to press too. One downside is that I’m more scared I’m going to lose it though because 1) I hate the clip and refuse to use it and 2) it looks easy to slip out of a pocket (thankfully, it still fits in my Vera Bradley case, though it looks lost in there compared to the Seven+!).  I’ll let you guys know if I see any other cases that it fits snugger into or if I find a way to MacGuyver a clip case!

 

1 Comment

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

One response to “It Has Arrived!

  1. Yes! The clicking! I totally forgot to put that in my review. I used to hate pressing the buttons on the 7+ during the night, not wanting to wake my hubby. Drove me crazy. This one is SO much better. I can click away without any guilt 😉

Leave a comment