What’s New Monday No. 2

 Today is edition number two of my new What’s New Monday. What’s new with me?

For starters… Kip is taking steps two-by-two… and on one occasion, he was daring and took three! He still crawls around mostly because it’s his fastest mode of transportation at the moment, but you can see he’s trying to get comfortable with the idea of walking. He’s such a cautious child! And the weather is so awesome right now for the most part, and he’s more apt to try standing and walking while we’re outside, so I’m sure we’ll be spending lots of time out there.

Erik and I celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary this past Saturday. While it wasn’t the greatest of days and there’s so much I wish I could have changed, Erik made Sunday a special day by taking us to the beach to walk on the shore and then eat at our favorite restaurant. Kip loved seeing the water again… and in fact, tried to go towards it again like summer days. It was just the three of us. I know – anniversary dates are supposed to be for the parents… the mom and dad… but right now, Kip is still little and hasn’t hit the full-on toddler stage, so it’s not that big of a deal to bring him. In fact, I’d rather it be that way.

On the diabetes front – I’m still working on things. I’m still taking a lot of Ginger’s advice and working into my life (I’m a slow learner, it seems). I’ve not been dedicated to being gluten-free, and I pay the price for it.  I’ll learn one day, I guess. I’m hard-headded and some things take a while.

I received a surprise package Friday at lunch from Minimed:

It’s the new Bayer Contour Next Link meter that works with the pump the way that the other link meters have. I’ve been trying it out all weekend, and I’ll have to say, it’s pretty spiffy! I have some pros and cons of the system, but overall, it’s really nice. I would have loved to have had this one instead of the One-Touch meters. But, I have a whole separate post planned for this little baby.

And, just as I was writing this post, another unexpected present came:

Upon first review, I’m just not happy about it. It’s a hard plastic case with no bumper for shock-absorption if you were to drop it. I’m clumsy, and having that is a must for me. Also, it’s made my screen-protector peel up on the side and top. Also, I’m not sure how much I’ll be using it since I don’t use the iBG-Star that much anymore (another post on that later). I may do a give-a-way later. We’ll see.

I’ve also been making a huge decision. One that I’m sure I have irritated my best friend and my husband about for the past few weeks. With my friend being a diabetic and my husband being a techy geek man, I’ve been throwing both of them for loops about the differences between Minimed’s Revel and Animas’ Ping system, and their upcoming (pending FDA approval) pumps – the Veo and Vibe, respectively.  One day I’ll be completely one way, the next, I’ll the the other. Some days I’m leaning the fence both ways. It’s like trying to decide between an Apple product and an Android product.

Anyway, more on those topics later. That’s just what’s new this Monday for me. What about you?

4 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes, Non-Diabetes, What's New Monday

4 responses to “What’s New Monday No. 2

  1. Cons? The NextLink has Cons? Uh oh. I actually called Medtronic on Thursday for something unrelated, then asked “by the way…” about the NextLink. He told me that mine was being shipped on THAT DAY! Now that I hear about Cons, this could be a bit of a buzzkill. I ordered new Bayer NextStrips (whatever they’re called) and everything….

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. Sara

    Nice little meter. Now if only it could remote bolus… LOL! 😀

    • sugabetic

      LOL! I know, right! That would be awesome! (Especially since their answer to a remote-boluser is a car-clicker like thing that is horrible and needs a screen!!)

Leave a Reply

