Little Changes To Big Changes

I’m at a loss (or gain?). I’ve gained back all but 10 lbs of my pre-baby weight. Yeah, you read that right. I had lost 30 pounds from my pre-baby weight after I had him due to thanks to breastfeeding. Now, I don’t have that calorie “sink” to just pump away 800-1,000 calories a day.

I tried WeightWatchers a few months back and just started to forget to track things.. and more things… and more.. until I didn’t track at all. I know it worked for me before, but after trying and failing to keep up with it for so many times, I’m just reluctanct to try it again. I mean, it’s only teaching you to eat better by incorporating more water, fruits and veggies into your diet, right? Sorta? Anywhooo.

So, I’m trying little changes. I’m working on weeding out and stopping diet drinks. Aspartame is not your friend, nor is most of whatever is in those drinks. I’m going to try to work on drinking more water, plain or naturally flavored only.

Saturday afternoon 40-min session

I’m incorporating Zumba back into my life. Somehow, some way, I am going to do it. It works for me. I can do it from home, and choose the time-frame that I need in order to get the job done. Although, I was a little over-ambitious this past weekend and now I’m SUPER sore. That’s okay, it’s a start though. Even if I have to do only the short 20 minute classes to start off with until I get into the groove again will be an improvement.

Another change will be my mindless snacking. That’s GOT to stop. I snack when I’m stressed. I snack when I’m reading for school. I snack when I get home from work while trying to decide what to cook for dinner! BIG problem, no? YES, and I’ve got to stop it somehow.

Sunday night hour-long class

I’m also going to be working with Ginger Vieira for the next few weeks to re-assess… well, everything. You would think after almost 24 years of being a diabetic, I would know how things work. But the only thing that is constant in the world of diabetes (or anything for that matter) is change. Things that worked for me pre-pregnancy may not work for me now, and that’s what we’ll be working on.

Other little changes will come, but the way I figure, is that the more “little changes” you can incorporate into your life one-by-one will be a huge change the longer you can stick with them and keep adding to them.

1 Comment

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

One response to “Little Changes To Big Changes

  1. Ruth-Anne

    Thanks so much for your blog. I have been type 1 for 23 years now and often feel discouraged. I love the encouragement I get from you and just want to say I appreciate you! Keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

