FridayFind: Justin’s Nut Butter

Around last year, I kept seeing different tweets and facebook references to this stuff called “Nutella”, a chocolate hazelnut spread. Not too long after that, I saw some commercials for this “Nutella” stuff that my fellow DOC people were talking about. So, I broke down and bought some. “Pure heaven in a jar”, I thought…. until I noticed that every time I ate and bolused for it, I would climb through the roof. It wasn’t until later that I actually looked at the ingredients:

INGREDIENTS: SUGAR, PALM OIL, HAZELNUTS, COCOA, SKIM MILK, REDUCED MINERALS WHEY (MILK), LECITHIN AS EMULSIFIER (SOY), VANILLIN: AN ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.

Three things that send my bg through the roof. First off, the very first ingredient is sugar. Really? How can this be a “healthy” addition to a morning breakfast when the first ingredient is sugar (and ingredients are listed in order of the amount used in the formulation to make a product)?? It also includes two milk products: skim milk and reduced minerals whey (derived from milk). Milk products and me do not mix diabetically speaking. If it has a milk product, I can hardly ever bolus for it and it come out a winning combination.

So, I broke up with Nutella. After a search on the internet, I found Justin’s Nut Butter. They make all sorts of different varieties (which, thanks to the marketing team sending me sample packs of all the flavors, I have tried them all), one namely being the Chocolate Hazelnut Butter Blend.

Justin’s Nut Butter Natural Chocolate Hazelnut Blend

Here’s a quote from their site:

Here’s the ingredients:

CHOCOLATE HAZELNUT BUTTER

Ingredients: Dry Roasted Hazelnuts, Dry Roasted Almonds, Organic Evaporated Cane Sugar, Organic Cocoa, Organic Cocoa Butter, Organic Palm Fruit Oil, Natural Vanilla, Sea Salt.

So, yes, while sugar is still on the list, it’s the third ingredient, with hazelnuts and almonds being the first two, meaning there are more nuts in this spread than sugar. There’s also no milk products (it’s a dairy and gluten free product, as well as vegan!), so it doesn’t raise my blood sugar as harshly.  In fact, instead of having a super spike that results in me floating well above the 200’s for a while, I usually end up with a mild spike that returns to normal within my usual post-meal time-frame.

Now, if you’re used to Nutella, there is one thing I will tell you. Nutella, other than being VERY sweet, is also very very smooth. Justin’s nut butters are “natural” in every sense of the word. They are slightly grainy and not as sweet, but in being that way, you can actually taste more of the nut and the other ingredients rather than just chocolate sugaryness.

I have completely made the switch over to Justin’s for my chocolatey-nutty spread needs (well, wants). I have three jars of this stuff (which I paid for) sitting in my cabinet at home.

You can get whatever variety you want directly from them by going to their website or, if you are an Amazon shopper, you can find it there too. There’s a few on there with Subscribe & Save, but sadly this was not one of them when I checked yesterday. You can also get different sizes – jars, packets, or 80 calorie packets.

I know that in regards to foods, insulin action and all that jazz, Your Diabetes May Vary. You may be able to eat Nutella without an issue. You may also try this and find no difference whatsoever in your glucose reaction between this and Nutella. But if you do give it a chance and do your own experiment, I would like to know just for curious information purposes.

Oh, and just in case you’re wondering, one serving is 5 weight watcher’s points. My favorite ways to use this with other foods? Either in a strawberry-banana smoothie or just on top of strawberries. Yum!

(Justin’s Nut Butter’s marketing team did sent me a packet of all flavors for free to try in exchange for a post to tell you about their product. All information given outside of quotes mentioned above are my full and honest opinion. If you have any comments or questions about this, feel free to email me. Thanks!)

1 Comment

Filed under dblog, Diabetes, FridayFind

One response to “FridayFind: Justin’s Nut Butter

  1. Awww, i love nutella! As you say, it is heaven in a jar, for my blood glucose it is hell! But in case of hypo, it is absolutely perfect. One teaspoon of sweet creamy nutella is enough to bring my glusose to normal level :). Sadly it is very hard stop eating after one spoon…. 😉

Leave a Reply

