The Wonderful World of Womanhood: Another Challenge

“In menstruating women, progesterone is one of two primary sex hormones (the other being estrogen) produced each month by the ovaries. During the first 14 days of the menstrual cycle, the ovaries secrete increasing amounts of estrogens. This two-week period is named the follicular phase. Halfway through a woman’s cycle, around day 14, one of her two ovaries will ovulate and release an egg. After ovulation, the ruptured follicle from which the egg has been released is transformed into the corpus luteum and begins producing progesterone. The portion of the menstrual cycle that follows ovulation, called the luteal phase, is orchestrated by progesterone. As its name implies, progesterone prepares (promotes) the womb for pregnancy (gestation). If the egg fails to be fertilized and no pregnancy occurs, the production of both progesterone and estrogen will rapidly decline, resulting in a period (menses).”

(Life Extension Magazine, April 2006. Article )

Since having Kip, my control has been all whacko and stuff. Lately, though, it’s becoming a little more manageable as my body starts becoming more “in tune” with how things should work again “female”ly. The kid is just over a year old, and I’ve only had 4 cycles since he’s been born, largely in part because I was breastfeeding him up until he was 8 months old. I only had one cycle during that time. (That also debunks the thought that you “will never have a period as long as you breastfeed your child” or “you can’t get pregnant while breastfeeding”)

I’ve been closely tracking things both diabetes wise and womanly wise because synthetic birth control methods just screw me up diabetically. For me, insulin resistance while on the pill is just as bad if not worse than PMS for me. So, I use an app on my phone, Woman Calendar, to track my cycles and whatnot. Since Wednesday afternoon, my bg has been going high for no reason. My site was good. Still blousing appropriately. Not eating meals over 30g carb if possible. But I still continued to climb to the 200-250 range when before I was staying a nice 90-130 range. Then yesterday, it hit me.

Ovulation.

I opened up the app on my phone and looked and sure enough, the day tracker said “Today is the 15th day since the beginning of your last period.”

Yep. That’s got to be it. On my last cycle, I did the same thing, but I didn’t put the two together. I thought about other signs that happen around ovulation for me (cramping, headache, tired-feeling) and I have sorta figured that’s what’s happening. Granted, my periods are nowhere near like “clockwork” as they are for some women, so I just have to stay on the lookout for a day of higher bg’s to figure out what’s going on.

It all makes sense since being pregnant (yeah, it took that many years to sink in), your insulin resistance goes up around month 4 or 5 and continues to peak throughout the duration of the pregnancy due to progesterone, the same hormone that is produced when you release an egg during ovulation. And it drops off both after you have your baby or when the period is over.

So, this morning I plugged a new basal rate into my pump. It’s set at a 30% higher rate than my normal one since I usually have to go with 20% or 50% higher anyway. That way, when signs start popping up, I can just switch over to that rate, set it and go.

My only request to pump makers would be to make “personal profiles” instead of basal profiles for situations like this. Reason being is because, yes, my basal rate changes during that time, but so does my carb ratios. And that’s a pain in the butt to adjust on your own every single month (which I don’t, I usually just add a bit extra to the meal bolus to cover the extra that’s needed, but it would be nice to have that automatically done for you).

1 Comment

Filed under dblog, Diabetes

One response to “The Wonderful World of Womanhood: Another Challenge

  1. I’m still waiting for my cycle to return – can’t imagine it’ll be long, since I’ve just had to majorly up my basal rates. The human body is keeeeerazy, isn’t it? And the changes pregnancy wreaks on the body are even crazier.

Leave a Reply

