Calorie Sink

Lately, I’ve noticed that I’m gaining back some of the weight that I lost after I had Kip. I’ve been really depressed about it, but I just didn’t know what to do. The thought of exercise is great, but with school and everything else going on, I just don’t know when I have the time to fit in even a 15 minute walk.

But this morning was the kicker. I’m back over the mark that I didn’t want to cross ever again unless I was pregnant… 150. Of the 37 pounds I lost after pregnancy, I have gained back 16. That’s almost half. And I am not happy with myself. It’s all my fault though. After I stopped pumping, I no longer had the “calorie sink” (as my endo calls it) that allowed me to mindlessly eat whatever I wanted and still lose or maintain my weight. Also, my insulin needs have slowly crept up, which I’m sure doesn’t help but add to the problem even more. (Of course, all those pre-supper snacks of junk-food time as I get home doesn’t help either, but ya know….)

So, I’m doing something about it.

I’m going back to Weight Watchers. I’m going to do everything in my power to stick with it (again). I have sucessfully lost weight on it before, and I think I can do it again.

Already this morning, one of my biggest problems has been pointed out.. my lattes. I love them. I make them at night for the next morning. And now, I can change them up and make healthier, lower-fat ones with the recipes that I saw others post. Breakfast will be chagned from a biscuit to something healthier and more satisfying. This morning, I had a spoonful of natural peanut butter and a banana. Yum.

I don’t know how I’m going to handle transitioning back into a restricted diet. I’m going to be a like a big kid and buck it at times, but I know it’s best. I’ve got to stay at a lower weight to be healthier.

And somewhere, I have got to find 20-30 minutes to exercise… I just hate to start with the weather outside being a freaking oven now. (See: I hate to sweat! It’s yucky!) Maybe I need to start back on the dance games on the Xbox…. hmm…..

So I guess that’s the goal. Not so much to lose weight fast, but to eat healthier so I can be healthier.

I’ve signed up for the 3 month plan. I also have my endo appointment on Thursday which will give me a beginning A1c too, so I’ll be able to see if it helps with blood sugar control and help me get my A1c back where I used to keep it.

Leave a comment

Filed under dblog, Diabetes, Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

