Miss You

I am missing the DOC terribly this week…. I missed you guys last week too…

I’m still hanging around though.. I lurk through Facebook and twitter at times, just not as much as before.

I’m trying so hard to keep up and stay in the swing of life now that I’ve added school into the mix. The problem right now is that every free second I have, my nose is in a book. If you were to see me, I’d probably be curled up in a chair somewhere – my office, my truck, my house – with my nose more than likely in my literature book. I don’t know why, but literature has always been my worst subject. Give me math, give me science, give me ANYTHING but literature. The process of close reading and analyzing it just doesn’t come easy to me. I barely read for enjoyment (except your blogs!), let alone for studying. The only relief I have is my Sociology class is rather interesting, and I’m loving it.

I have 6 more weeks of class and then a break. Well, sort of… then I have to study for my insurance license renewal, which is all due by the end of August, but I will be back in class by then – so everything with that has to be done while on that 2 week break.

I know it’s going to be hard as crap over the next year to keep up with everything, but I can’t stop now. I have a goal, and I’m going to do my best to achieve it. I just hate that it’s taking so much time away.

Then, with Kip being super mobile now – holy crap. That kid went from barely going anywhere unless it was backwards, to full-fledged-crossing-the-living-room-in-5-seconds mode. Of course, this opens so many doors for Peek-A-Boo games and “Find the toy” strategies. It also means that staying in a play-yard doesn’t make him happy. He will play in one for a few minutes, but no where near the time he used to stay in it. Things like gardening, cleaning house, and getting me ready to go anywhere all have to be done in 15-20 minute spurts of time.

Diabetes is being a butt, though I imagine its from stress among a few other things. I practically had a melt-down with my endo yesterday over the phone. I have one month….ONE month… to get better control before I go for the A1c again. My at-home ones showed an 8.3 and an 8.8… not much different from the 9.0 I had in his office back in March. I just want to get back into the7.0-7.5 range. I know that’s still considered high, but it’s a heckuvalot better than 9 to me. We changed a few basal rates, and discussed better management for testing (yeah, I’ve been sorta slacking on that), and a few other things. Hopefully this will help some. I think the biggest deal is going from such intense followup visits (1 per month during pregnancy) to 1 every 3 months is getting to me as well. I knew then that I had to stay on top of things because not only was I growing this awesome baby inside, but I was constantly being checked on, and I wanted to do my best. I didn’t slack off because I wanted that “A” – that “You’re doing a great job” – I had constant accountability. It was that constant accountability to my growing baby and him that kept me staying in-check, and the feedback helped a ton. I have to find a new way of managing myself that gives me the accountability and feedback that I need to keep me going like before… it’s just finding the what and how of that equation.

All that being said… (and I’ll say it again and again and again)…..

I miss you guys.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under dblog

One response to “Miss You

  1. Miss you too, Sarah!!

    Happy studying, and don’t worry about D being a butt – it happens. I’ve read other moms have had the same issues post-delivery, that they kind of take it easy and that feels like slacking. You’re doing fine, I’m sure. Know that we’ve got your back and will keep our thoughts in your corner as you’re studying away while doing the family life and caught up in the books!

    Good luck, my friend!!

Leave a Reply

