FridayFind 6 – Site Selector App

(Sorry for not posting any this week. I had a problem with my site and some hackers and stuff, so I was working hard with my hosting company to get it back to working order. Now, on to my post…..)

Welcome to this week’s Friday Find! Several weeks ago, I was wanting to have an app that would track my sites – CGM and Infusion. Well, actually, this has been a dream for a few years now, but I actually started proactively looking for a way to make it happen. Well, unbeknownst to me, a good friend of mine – Brian Bosh (@Bosh) also had the same idea, but actually had the means and know-how to do it. He had developed an app called Site Selector. It was still in infancy stage, but I was so thrilled to see it and use it! I reached out to Brian with some suggestions of some improvements, and he worked hard on incorporating them. And now, I want to share a bit about it with you.

1. The app is FREE! Yup, FREE! Always a great point to make, right?

2. You can track both CGM and Infusion sites by long-tapping on the “body”, which will then place the site, or short-tap to zoom in on the area, and you can long-tap to mark the spot. A menu will then come up to ask if it’s a pump or CGM site, and then it places a dot for the site. Purple for pump, orange for CGM. It’s then recorded in the app and kept track of.

3. When you initially set up the app, it suggests healing rate times for sites, but as we all know, YDMV (You Diabetes May Vary), and some heal slower than others. You can change this to how fast or slow you think you heal. In doing this, it makes the app know how fast to “fade” the dots where your sites are to represent where they are in the healing process.

Pump and Insulin Settings

CGM and BG settings

Additional settings

4. It not only logs your sites, but you can also log your blood sugars in the Logbook section which can then be exported, but only if connected to your computer. But Brian gives excellent instructions on how to do this, and it works quite well.

5. With the reminders set, it alerts you as to when your current site has expired and needs to be changed:

Change Alert

As with anything diabetes-care related, you have to do what works for you. This app works for me because it can be as simple (only track CGM and infusion sites) or as complicated (those plus BG’s) as I need it to be. I absolutely love that Brian make it because I am a visual person, and being able to see where a site might be a no-no due to healing is a great help.

So, what are you waiting for? If you have the iPad or iPhone, go download it and give it a try! And, if you can, rate it for Brian so he knows how he’s doing. Or, if you have any suggestions, contact him at siteselector (at) alternateinterior (dot) com.

 

2 Comments

Filed under dblog, Diabetes, FridayFind

2 responses to “FridayFind 6 – Site Selector App

  1. I think it is a good idea that his app is not sponsored by a pump or CGM company. I would hate to be stuck on their opinions for length of wear (as I contemplate removing the CGM from my thigh after 16 days).

  2. 😛 First, thanks so much for featuring Site Selector! And I appreciate all your suggestions that made it into this version. The zoom didn’t come out quite the way we discussed, but hopefully it’s still useful.

    If anyone runs into bugs, or thinks “wouldn’t it be cool…” please, let me know! I want this to be a useful tool for all pump or CGM users. If there’s something it needs to do to make it worthwhile for you, let me know. Not everything’s possible (rules, technical limitations, my personal limitations, etc) but I really do want to make this work as well as possible for as many diabetics as possible.

    And for future direction, Allison Blass’s Carb Magic Carbonater 5000 is really the direction I’m hoping this can go. Not tomorrow, not even next year, but that’s the future.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

